Bitch, bitch, bitch . . .

June 6, 2013

Having a blog affords me the opportunity to complain about the most trivial things. An example is the fact that “wheel chair accessible” doesn’t exactly mean “wheel chair accessible”.

The other day, on one of my “outings”, I was being pushed around racks of clothes, listening to the clothes hangers falling on the floor. It seemed that with every turn we made my wheel chair pulled clothes off of racks or my feet got tangled up with clothes. A couple of months ago I went to my doctor and the ramp that is usually made available to people in wheelchairs had been removed. The owner of the building didn’t like having to hire someone to remove the snow. He had a wheelchair elevator installed instead. How anyone in a wheelchair is expected to make this work was a mystery to me and my personal care attendant (PCA). The elevator is a complicated contraption that requires a lot more mobility than someone in a wheelchair is capable of.   I can’t imagine any one in a wheelchair who is alone being able to operate the elevator on their own. Not being able to use my hands means that I am really screwed. 

In an effort to be as positive as possible I can’t help but be a bit discouraged by the lack of clear understanding that people exhibit by calling the facility wheelchair accessible when it’s no such thing. I remember going to a restaurant and getting trapped between the entrance doors. The woman who was working as the hostess turned and looked at me and did nothing. I sat there in the chair and wondered how I was going to get into the restaurant — I was neither in nor out. We take so much for granted when we are capable but when we lose that ability we live in a different reality. 

Enough complaining for now. I am about to have dinner and I love being able to taste my food and drink my soda and eat my munchies. So, for now I am going to focus on that and to hell with all the baloney about being “handicapped accessible”.  

One Response to “Bitch, bitch, bitch . . .”

  1. […] Bitch, bitch, bitch . . . (darly003.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

